I Have a Dream


As always, I really stink at keeping you up to date with new posts.

I’m doing pretty well lately. My bipolar disorder is apparent at times, but for the most part I feel stable.  I’ve been busy with work and the Lions Club. Plus, I’ve been reading like a mad woman…he he he. Whenever I get caught in reading an author, I devour her books as much as possible.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the Lions Club and how they dedicate their free time to helping a ton of people who need help. I want to feel the passion I see so many Lions feel when they talk about what they have done to help people get a K9 companion or deliver clothing and food to those who lost their homes in a flood, plus so much more. I feel their passion, and I feel strong in my belief that Lions is a good organization. I am very proud to be a Lion.

Because of the Lions, I want to help. I want to bring about change. I know that a major purpose for me is to make a difference in some way. I want people with mental disorders to find a better understanding of their self, to obtain the mental and physical care they need, and to be free of the emotional trauma caused by Stigma.

That is my dream for the future. It is grandiose. I cannot deny that. However, I can ask you if there is any reason why I shouldn’t have this dream? I have a dream that one day I will look back on my life and see that my single voice affected enough people to come together in a common cause that is bigger than what only one voice could accomplish.

I will take my time to plan this by doing as much research as I can about mental disorders, various charitable organizations like NAMI, and even try to gain strength from words of wisdom from those who allowed their passion for a cause lead them to achieve their goals.

If you have any suggestions as to ideas, research, links, and/or information you think will help me in my pursuit of realizing my dream, please write a comment.

2 thoughts on “I Have a Dream

  1. licoriceroot June 5, 2010 / 12:22 AM

    I applaud you for following your dreams and set goals for yourself. As I have watched this disorder ravage my child’s mind, I can only imagine how hard it is to function in adulthood with the disorder. But you are not only functioning, you are taking positive steps towards making your life and the lives of others better. I think that’s pretty cool, and it gives me hope for my daughter’s future. Thank you for that hope!

    • mydualities June 5, 2010 / 1:41 PM

      Thank you! Your words help give me the strength to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

