How Open is Too Open?


I have been recently asked by a fellow blogger this fundamental question when it comes to blogging, “How open is too open?” It’s a good question that many people wonder about, especially those writing a blog. I’ve been told and a part of me agrees that revealing everything about you can be dangerous. Blogs can be viewed by anyone in the world. For this reason, my husband and therapist believe that I need to keep my name and my location a secret while I use this blog as a type of therapy.

Why?

Well, here is a list of reasons we have come up with as to why:

  • Identity theft is a problem.
  • Employers and/or future employers can learn too much about you, which is illegal, but its “only illegal if you get caught.”
  • Blogs are based off of opinion and you might make the wrong person angry who may stalk, harass, or do something even worse.
  • You may unknowinglyΒ reveal something to the world that you regret.
  • Let’s face it, the world is not a friendly place for people with mental disorders. People are afraid of what they don’t understand. When people are afraid enough, their fear turns to anger and violence, which has led to the school shootings, bullying, and even world wars.

So, how open is too open? You be the judge. I, for one, know from personal experience that the world is not ready to accept people’s differences as much as we would like. I stand behind many organizations like NAMI that try to make the world more accepting. However, I stand behind them right now. Eventually when I get all my ducks in a row, I plan to let the world know “Yes, I’m so and so, and I am bipolar,” but that is to the WORLD. Everyday, I willingly tell those around me, “Hi, I’m so and so. Yes, I am bipolar. Do you have any questions?”

Tell the people in your life when the right moment presents itself, but telling the world everything might lead to more problems for you in the future.

Please comment. What do you think?

Thanks,Β Β  Duals πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “How Open is Too Open?

  1. Perkie November 20, 2010 / 5:03 PM

    Duals-

    Very good post girl! πŸ™‚ Me likey! And you have given me insight on some things that I had not really thought about before. Of course, I have never blogged before on the internet, so I was an ingnorant blogger virgin when I created my site. I did change what I could about my identity in my profile, but some things I couldn’t change…which was my user name, and dummy me put what?…. My real name lol when I opened the domain. Oh well, atleast my location says USA, and thats a pretty broad area LOL. You really made some good points in your post. I enjoyed reading it greatly. πŸ™‚ Maybe you will end up keeping somebody else safe by posting that. You rock girlfriend! πŸ™‚

    • mydualities November 20, 2010 / 10:59 PM

      πŸ™‚ Thank you! I hope it does help someone in the future. Sorry about not helping you out earlier, but we didn’t know each other then. I hope people read my post, but I don’t get many readers. What’s the best way to get noticed? Do you have any suggestions for me to fix that?

      • Stephanie November 21, 2010 / 7:50 AM

        Well, I have heard that if you “tag” your stuff, it pulls up better when people are searching for stuff on the internet. Its kind of like keywords. I started trying to tag my posts, but I am still not sure if I am doing it right or not? I’m still investigating that myself lol. So, I am not sure if you tag your posts or tag or site, if thats even possible, or both?

  2. Stephanie November 21, 2010 / 7:52 AM

    WOW DUALS!!! LOOK AT YOU GIRL!!! You been hard at work on this website!! I am totally impressed yet again! It looks great!! Very nice job!! Who rocks? Duals rocks!!! πŸ™‚ Your site was the first thing I went to this morning and I must say, it put a smile on my face that I didn’t think could possibly be put there after last night. Thanks Duals!! πŸ™‚

  3. Stephanie November 22, 2010 / 1:53 PM

    Goooooooooood MANIC Monday!!! How are you today Duals!!???

    • mydualities November 22, 2010 / 3:56 PM

      πŸ™‚ LOL! I’m pretty good. The weather here sucks, so it’s draining me today. I saw my psychiatrist also today. I told him about the depression, but since I’m on my way up we didn’t do any changes, which I’m glad. I’m worried about a possible manic episode coming because of the holidays. Plus, I’m writing again. My family worries about that. I tend to become manic while I write. I don’t know if it is a cause or a symptom, but that is the main reason I never finish what I’m writing. Mania always diverts my attention then I stay away from it. 😦 I hope I can finish this novel before mania hits. Maybe if I watch more carefully, I can prevent it. Look out mood chart…here I come.

      • Stephanie November 22, 2010 / 6:38 PM

        Ugh…yea, stress, holidays, weather, etc… its not a good combination. Its bad for bringing on mania. I have been very hypomanic all day today, which is probably obvious in my writing lol. Just do the best you can Duals… but you can’t prevent mania usually. 😦 Well, I guess you can say that you can’t prevent any of it really. Oh well, you got your husband, family, friends, and now me to help you ride out the storm if it approaches. Buckle up… it could be a bumpy ride.

      • mydualities November 23, 2010 / 8:19 AM

        πŸ™‚ Thanks! You’re right about it being very hard, almost impossible to prevent your mood swings, but I learned if you avoid stressors then your mood can remain stable a little longer.

        Who am I kidding? Life always likes to through curve balls at you. Maybe a little hypomania wouldn’t be bad right now. I could get a lot more done. πŸ™‚

  4. Stephanie November 23, 2010 / 8:26 AM

    Yes, I agree that trying to avoid stressors can help but then again, I don’t know all of mine just yet. Sometimes I don’t pick up on the fact of WHAT IS a stressor until AFTER it takes its toll on my mood, lol. So, I can then add it to my list. I am definately digging my hypomanic mood at the moment. πŸ™‚ It is SO NICE to not be down and depressed… even if it is only temporary. 😦

Leave a Reply

