“Gosh, Don’t Scare Me Like That!”


Well, I’m not tired right now and it’s midnight. Yuck! I think I drank too much caffeine today, but it probably was the panic I felt when I read Heather Whistler’s blog “Jumbling Towers” http://heatherwhistler.wordpress.com/about/. I panicked when I read that 90% of marriages fail when one of the partners are bipolar. Holy SH*T!!! I freaked before I actually read the article she posted along with that statistic, “Partners for Life: Beating the Bipolar Odds” by Michelle Roberts from BP Magazine http://bphope.com/Item.aspx/104/partners-for-life . The article was very informative and I suggest people read it!! Gosh, don’t scare me like that people! I think I was doing better before I knew that. Now, I’m freaking out! Wait…think of your husband and your relationship. Okay, I feel better. Few. The article gave good pointers that my husband and I already do and have done or survived through.

I’m calming down now, but I’m still wired. It makes me ponder on my relationship with my husband. Do I not appreciate him? Am I being selfish right now? Actually, I don’t think so. According to my therapist, I let my own self disappear behind my husband, my sisters, my brother, and my parents before I considered doing anything for me. However, now that I’m trying to step out of my cocoon with writing this book, my therapist tells me that I should start small like with short stories and poetry instead of writing a novel. Isn’t this blog starting small? Now I’m working up to something bigger. Besides, short stories and poetry don’t really cut it for me anymore. I did those back in high school and college.

Anyway, I want to write this novel. I’ve had the idea since 2007, but keep on letting people or my mood swings discourage me from writing it. I’ve gone through four different styles and I finally think I’ve found the right fit for me. Watch though. I go to publish it and I’m told the style is all wrong and needs to be rewritten. 😦    I hope not!!!

Well, I’m getting tired now…I hope. I’m going to try to sleep. Thanks for listening. 🙂

Duals

5 thoughts on ““Gosh, Don’t Scare Me Like That!”

  1. Stephanie November 29, 2010 / 8:00 AM

    Duals

    Your freaking me out girl, lol! I haven’t went to Heathers website yet to read that, but after reading that it freaked you out I don’t know if I want to. lol! I always have this fear that I am going to have this one episode that I do something so bad that my husband ends up throwing his hands in the air and says I quit! So, maybe I shouldn’t read it lol. Sadly though, the divorce rate is high even without anyone being bipolar ya know. 😦

    • mydualities November 29, 2010 / 9:03 AM

      I know. It’s sad. I have that very same fear too, but read the article. It gives you tips on how to keep the marriage in a happy place even when you are not.
      Duals

  2. Heather Whistler November 29, 2010 / 9:50 AM

    Sorry that statistic freaked you out! I think it’s kind of old (2003), and I sort of suspect that it might apply more to marriages in which the person with bipolar isn’t being treated. And the article is really good! I’m glad you read you it!

    • mydualities November 29, 2010 / 10:03 AM

      Thanks Heather. I freaked before I read the whole thing. Now I feel more confident in my marriage because we have gone through some pretty rough spots and made it through.
      Duals

    • Stephanie November 29, 2010 / 10:31 AM

      Okay, okay… so now I must read it then lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

