Status Update


So, how am I doing on my new goals? Well, the dieting turns out to be harder than the exercising, but I am doing both. I watch what I eat and try to eat less than I usually would, but I still eat things that are bad for me. 😦 I can’t seem to kick that habit yet, but I’m gradually working towards it. As for exercising, I started with only being able to work out for about seven minutes. 😦 BUT now I managed 22 minutes yesterday. I’m slowly progressing and I’m starting to feel great.

I applied to a couple of places, but haven’t heard anything from them yet. I probably won’t, but they seemed like cool jobs so I’m hoping. I think I might try a temp agency soon if I don’t find a job by the end of this year.

Let’s see. The writing on my novel is coming slowly this past week, but I worked out some of the kinks and now its flowing again.

I saw my best friend from diaper school again last night. I hadn’t seen her since September! It was good having a girls night out last night. We watched Tangled and then talked for a while. I’m also doing a lot with the service organization I belong to and met a new friend, but she lives all the way in the southern part of this state, so I won’t see her very often. 😦  I’ve decided to join a bipolar support group. NAMI is offering Connections here on Friday afternoons, so I might check that out. I’d also like to join a book club, but I don’t know of one around here. I’m thinking of maybe talking with my favorite book store to see if they know of any or might want to start one there. I have a vast knowledge of literature and I have teaching experience, so I think I could easily lead a book club if I wanted to, but is that too much? Am I being kinda manic in my thoughts for starting one? Without having a job right now, I don’t think so, but when I do get one it might make things complicated.

Overall, I’m doing really well lately. I have my bipolar disorder in a very stable situation right now, I think. I have cleaning and Christmas cards to do today. At least I’m keeping busy while I continue to look for a job.

How is everyone else. I’d love to hear from you and see how the holidays are affecting you. Please comment.

Duals

15 thoughts on “Status Update

  1. stephanie December 6, 2010 / 9:48 AM

    Duals

    I am so glad to hear that you are doing well! 🙂 That, if nothing else, makes me smile. I am so proud of you with your goals. You are doing great! And, its okay if you don’t got the eating thing down yet, you are trying and that’s all you can ask. I think you are well on your way to success 🙂 keep up the good work Duals!

    • mydualities December 6, 2010 / 10:34 AM

      Thank you so much Steph! You’re the best!
      Duals

  2. Pam Franklin December 6, 2010 / 11:50 PM

    You give me hope…I’m newly diagnosed and struggling right now. Please keep blogging!

    • mydualities December 7, 2010 / 11:25 AM

      Thank you!
      It means a lot to me to hear you say that.
      Duals

    • Stephanie December 8, 2010 / 11:22 AM

      Pam

      I am sorry to hear that you are struggling 😦 I too am and I know it is so hard to deal with. It hasn’t been but going on two years for me getting the diagnosis, and I am just NOW starting to try to accept it. So, it is VERY hard, but I think that if people like us stick together, and support each other, it helps a whole lot. Duals gives me lots of support. 🙂 I would be glad to talk to you anytime too. 🙂 Hang in there girl…. 🙂

      http://www.mybipolarlife.com
      Stephanie

  3. Frnzy December 7, 2010 / 12:25 PM

    D– Read a post of yours from a few days back where you said no one replies to you, and it’s got you down. So I thought I’d comment. I lost 90 pounds a couple years ago and have kept it off +/- 10 lbs (depending on what season of the year it is)so I wanted you to know bipolars can do it and stick with it. You can be an inspiration to everyone you know. And if you slack off for a while on it, just get back on the train. It’s worth it. You can do it.

    On how hard it is to give up sweets. My suggestion: Eat sweets if they help you eat fewer calories overall. I don’t know what your indulgence is exactly, but give up on the foods with high fructose corn syrup. Eat cookies with only brown and regular sugar. Eat donuts at someplace where they make them fresh without HFCS. Stuff like that. Here’s why I suggest it. I still have a sweet tooth, but the super unhealthy sticky things now taste super gross. I feel my taste buds have learned to hate HFCS, and I don’t now crave it at all. Even bread that is sweetened with HFCS just taste “wrong” now. They taste chemical. Anywho, that’s my suggestion. After a couple weeks you don’t miss the HFCS anymore as your tastebuds and hunger hormones change for the good. This has worked for me and many other people I personally know. -F

    • mydualities December 7, 2010 / 4:00 PM

      Thanks for all the really good tips. Thank you also for commenting. How am I suppose to know these things if people don’t tell me? 🙂

      Duals

    • Stephanie December 8, 2010 / 11:28 AM

      Not to butt in, but that is really interesting what you said about the HFCS. 🙂 That makes a lot of sense. Good input! Thanks for sharing!

      http://www.mybipolarlife.com
      Stephanie

      • Frnzy December 8, 2010 / 5:48 PM

        Oh, don’t worry about butting in 🙂

        I’m not one of those HFCS is evil conspiracy types. But I do believe that if you have slow metabolism and trouble losing weight, it’s a simple, one step way to help consume less calories. Basically, what I’ve noticed is things that contain HFCS typically have little nutritional value. So by avoiding it, what you’re really avoiding a lot of other things that are also not exactly good for you. -F

  4. Stephanie December 8, 2010 / 11:32 AM

    Duals

    Back to wondering why no one comments, I got to thinking about that yesterday, and I blogged on it, but I think I may have figured out a reason for it. So, whenever you get a chance, check out my post for 12-7-10 part 2 and see what you think? Maybe it will help you too with getting more comments. 🙂 How is your day going btw?

    • mydualities December 8, 2010 / 12:52 PM

      Thanks Steph,
      I will definitely check out your blog. Today I’m feeling kinda blah. I stayed at my sisters and ended up watching my nephew at 2 to 3 am because he had a nightmare. I feel so tired now. I’m thinking about taking a long nap after ironing some shirts for my husband. How are you doing?
      Duals

      • Stephanie December 8, 2010 / 1:52 PM

        Well, I am answering this AFTER the fact in responding to the comments you left on my blog so I am “HOPING” that the ‘blah’ is gone now??? Did you get some of that I rubbed on the screen for you??? LOL! 🙂 And ofcourse you know I am hypomanic so I can say I am doing “GOOD” for once! 🙂 Yay me!

  5. mydualities December 8, 2010 / 2:35 PM

    YES blah is definitely gone!!! Still listening to the song. I put it on repeat. LOVE IT!! “You spin my head right round right round when you go down when you go down…”
    Duals

  6. Stephanie December 8, 2010 / 3:34 PM

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!! Man! Do I feel special today or WHAT?! I am so happy I helped you get rid of the blah monster! Woop! There it is…. Woop! There it is…. lol

Leave a Reply

