So Where’s My Silver Lining?


So, did you enjoy watching “The Silver Lining’s Playbook”?  I did. I went to the theater on a Monday afternoon all by myself and saw the movie on the big screen. I loved it. I was very happy that Jennifer Lawrence won Best Actress (Oscar) for her role. She deserved it! She did an excellent job portraying her character. I wish Bradley Cooper won Best Actor, but going against Daniel Day-Lewis was pretty tough. I really liked how the portrayal of mental illness was more realistic in this movie than in most.

As someone who knows what it is like to live with bipolar disorder with psychotic tendencies, I identified deeply to Bradley’s character. Lately, I’ve been writing a lot more than I have in a while. I keep on wanting to write my story. Is that bad? I come up with another novel idea, start to write it, but I never finish it. I always go back to me. I know I just need to write it now and then shelve it. Get it out of my head, but delving into the past and especially analyzing what set me off the first time when I was diagnosed, may be detrimental to my health. It may make a good book though. LOL!

I know while I do this, I should find a new therapist to talk to about these issues that arise, but I really don’t want to start all over again. Besides, I don’t think I have much time with my work.

For those that have been keeping tabs on me, my life basically hasn’t changed much.

Family: Husband and I are still romantically distant. No change there. He continues to tell me that we will have children one day, but I’ll be 33 soon, so the time is slipping away. Plus having children at my weight and taking my meds is going to be a huge challenge. I’m seriously considering adopting, but can I with my mental history?

Weight: Still a blimp. Not doing anything to improve myself either. I have a gym membership that I’ve only used once in the two years I’ve had it and I’ve been on weight watchers for a while now, but never follow it. Go me!

Well, those were the main issues I can think of. I love writing. I wished I loved exercising just as much.

So what did you think about “Silver Lining”? I’d really like to get a conversation about that movie going.

TTYL

Duals

Leave a Reply

