Am I a Psychopath?


crazy_freaky_deranged_weired_or_psychoticWhile writing my novel, I remembered that when I was first diagnosed as bipolar “with psychotic tendencies” that I thought I was a psychopath, which freaked me out even more. I never thought I had the capability of being the next Ted Bundy. It took time for me to figure the difference out on my own, which is ridiculous that I had to figure that out for myself. Even Outpatient Therapy did not explain to me the difference.

So, I’m going to help explain it here. I am also not going to just have you take my word for it, I’m going to link you to a very good article from Psychology Today that also talks about the differences.”Psychotic Is Not the Same as psychopathic” http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/beautiful-minds/201103/psychotic-is-not-the-same-psychopathic

Thank you Scott Barry Kaufman, PH. D. for clarifying the difference so well in your article.

Synopsis of article: Psychotic–“mental state of losing touch with reality”; Psychopathy–“personality disorder” with the symptoms of “lack of empathy, impulsivity, recklessness, scrupulousness, callousness, and lying”

Even someone with psychotic tendencies needs to be reminded.

Those that know me would describe me as very empathetic. I cry whenever I hear someone else is feeling pain. I am very moralistic and have only had two sexual partners in my life. I have a very hard time lying to anyone and I know the difference between right and wrong on a daily basis, unless I can’t distinguish reality at times.

When that happened which I have slipped into a psychotic episode three times now, I thought I was God’s messenger, the television was talking to me, and that I had to martyr myself to help save other bipolar people from going through traumatic experiences like I did to get help.  All these episodes happened within a ten year span of times and only lasted a week at the most. I’m not psychotic all the time. I’m very normal most of the time.

I volunteer as a Lion and I use to be a high school English teacher. I’m an everyday person.

I’m certainly no Ted Bundy.

TTYL 🙂

Duals

2 thoughts on “Am I a Psychopath?

  1. Nikki March 14, 2013 / 2:26 PM

    Hey, if you have care and compassion for others, you are probably not a psycho. They are all the same (in terms of patterns of behaviour), read my blog…. it is quite clear how a sociopath is, they never experience guilt, remorse or shame, they have a lack of conscience. Basically they do whatever they want. They are compulsive pathological liars, have no life goals, and are unable to learn from past mistakes, the only thing that they learn is how to be more manipulative and deceptive.

    Psychosis is not the same as psychopathy! 🙂

    • mydualities March 14, 2013 / 2:34 PM

      Nikki,
      Thanks for the great descriptions! I couldn’t agree with you more.

      Duals

Leave a Reply

