Hopeless


hopeless-treeDistain drips off me as I think about my book. I hate myself. I can’t seem to write anything of substance anymore. I suck. I don’t know where I’m going with this book again. I know many of my key points I want to emphasize, but I just can’t figure out how exactly I want to portray them.

Have you ever had this problem? What do you do to get back into the swing of things?

I think another reason I stopped was that I was no longer suffering from a mixed episode. I feel torn or maybe I’m just falling. I don’t know. I just don’t feel the energy I once had for writing.

I’m also doubting my writing and feeling like what is the point again. I’ve started five books and I have never finished any of them. I hope I finish this one, but will I?

I don’t think anyone wants to hear what I have to say. It’s been said before, I’m sure. Besides, it’s not very enthralling. Yuck!

I watched a course on creative nonfiction that was great, but I’m trying to write fiction. One thing I did learn was that I need to avoid passive voice…I know, I’m certainly not doing a good job of that with my writing on this blog. LOL! I should try, but I don’t have the mentality to give two shits right now. I’m at work, but I’m obviously not at work right now. 🙂 Ask me if I care.

Duals

5 thoughts on “Hopeless

  1. Stephanie April 5, 2013 / 10:36 AM

    Duals

    First off, you are so damn funny you always crack me up!!! You should never, ever question your writing skills. Your writing talent is right in front of you every time your fingertips hit the keyboard trust me… I can see it. And its not a matter of IF you are going to finish a book, its just a question of WHEN 🙂 Everything happens in good time, so will your books… yes I said BOOKS! Lol! Stay positive girl and give yourself more credit because you deserve it!!! 😉 OH…and don’t forget to smile! It will make you feel better! 🙂 LYLAS!

    Stephanie 🙂

  2. mydualities April 5, 2013 / 11:25 AM

    Stephanie,
    You’re so awesome! 🙂 You always put a smile on my face no matter how depressed or hopeless I feel. You’re the best.
    LYLAS!
    Duals

    • Stephanie April 6, 2013 / 11:25 AM

      It warms my heart to know I can bring a smile to your sweet face!!! That’s what should always BE on your face, but I know its hard to keep one on there sometimes. Just remember, as hard as it may be, you and I are not hopeless… we are HOPEFUL!! We just need a swift kick in the ass sometimes to remind each other of that… that’s all! LOL!!! 😉 LYLAS, ALWAYS… Stephanie!

  3. Wil April 8, 2013 / 2:11 PM

    I totally get this. Have started many books to never finish. Knowing what points I want to make but lacking the mental structure and tedious patience it takes to put it all together. Figuring everything has already been said by someone else anyway…to completely losing interest in writing all together.

    I think it’s part of the disorder so try not to beat yourself up so much about it. I can’t control these things – the waxing and waning of creativity. I just take advantage of it when it comes and try to chill until it returns because I know it can’t be forced or feigned. It’s ok. Just try to BE we’re you are at – mind and body. Easier said than done I know.

    Just wanted to let you know I go through the exact same thing.

    • mydualities April 9, 2013 / 10:04 AM

      Wil,
      Thank you! I needed to hear that from someone. It’s nice to know too that you can pick up where you left off when the creativity comes back. I’m waiting for it to drip from my fingers again.
      Thank you!
      Duals 🙂

Leave a Reply

