Home Away from Home


Because I’m currently unemployed… 😦 , I try to plan my day so I’m not laying in bed or mooping around all day. If I stay home, that is exactly what I tend to do, so where do I go?

I go to my favorite place. A place full of hope, love, mystery, adventure, horror, suspense…yeah you guessed it, my favorite book store. 🙂 Barnes and Noble has been my favorite haunt since high school. No matter where I move to B&N seems to be there, waiting for me with open arms like a long time lover or a sibling. When I walk in I smell the scent of coffee and books in the air. I see rows upon rows of books filled with all my hopes and dreams for the future. A future filled with reading and consuming another person’s genius and knowledge.

I go to my little place of heaven because I feel comfortable there when I spend my time writing, reading, or researching. I know I won’t get gawked at if I take my time looking through the books before I buy them. I can spread out like I did years ago when I use to grade papers there or studying for multiple finals during college.

It’s my home away from home, but I heard some awful rumors that it might be taken over by another book store chain! NOOOO!!! I don’t want my peaceful ambiance to change to an everyday “wham-bamm thank you ma’am” kind of store. I’ll be heart broken!! A huge part of my life would be ripped away from me. Please, say it isn’t so!! NOOOO!!! 😦

So, if you can guess where I am now…you get a big huge……..smile. 🙂

I had to get out of the house today. I was heading to another “blah” day if I didn’t. I wish I could work here, but no such luck. I didn’t even get a call back for an interview. 😦 People tell me to try the other book stores, but I’m too loyal to B&N to do that. It would be like dating your best friend’s ex. YUCK!!! I came here to write my novel, but instead I’m writing to all of you…hmmm, I think I’m procrastinating.

BTW, this post has nothing to do with being bipolar, so everyone should be cool with writing a comment about your favorite haunt. 🙂

I love hearing from people, bipolar or not, so write away!

Duals

3 thoughts on “Home Away from Home

  1. Stephanie December 10, 2010 / 8:35 AM

    Duals

    Once again, you always make me smile and/or laugh when I read your posts. I know where you ARE…… B&N. lol! I love that bookstore too! I should go more often than I do. In fact, its funny because my husband had actually asked me last night, the night you wrote this, if I wanted to go to B&N and get some coffee. How bizarre huh! Although, I didn’t go because I was already in my comfy pj’s and cooking dinner, but now I just might do that tonight 🙂

    And yea, I think you may have been procrastinating just a hair lol. Buts thats okay… you are not on any type of time limit. 🙂

    • mydualities December 10, 2010 / 9:41 AM

      Stephanie,
      I did manage to write a little while I was there, but it started to snow and I didn’t want to have it accumulate too much, so I left. Thanks for reading my blogs all the time. I at least know your out there laughin’ it up. 🙂
      Duals

      • Stephanie December 10, 2010 / 12:12 PM

        Well, some is better than none! 🙂 Yes, I love reading your blog just as I am sure many others do too! 🙂

Leave a comment